Treaties on accession of Donbass, other liberated territories to Russia signed


Head of the Kherson Region Vladimir Saldo, Head of the Zaporozhye Region Evgeny Balitsky, Russian President Vladimir Putin, Head of the Donetsk People’s Republic Denis Pushilin and Head of the Lugansk People’s Republic Leonid Pasechnik © Mikhail Metzel/TASS

Share with love

Russian President Vladimir Putin and the heads of the Donetsk and Lugansk People’s Republics and the Zaporozhye and Kherson Regions have signed treaties on uniting these territories with Russia.

The ceremony took place on Friday in the Grand Kremlin Palace’s St. George’s Hall. Before signing the historic documents, Putin delivered a speech about these territories joining Russia.

Two tables had been set up in the hall for the signing ceremony. At one of them sat the heads of the four regions, who each took turns signing the document. Putin was seated at the other table – he approved the treaties on behalf of the Russian Federation.

Advert Space

After that the politicians stood up and gathered in the middle of the room for a joint handshake and a photo session. The entire St. George’s Hall, where the entire political leadership of the country, including the cabinet of ministers and governors, gathered, applauded them. Rising from their seats, the ceremony participants began applauding and chanting “Russia.” Putin, smiling, cheered them on and joined the chant.

Share with love