APC wins Etsako Federal Constituency by-election in Edo

Share with love

Mr Johson Oghuma of the All Progressives Congress (APC)  has emerged the winner of the Etsako Federal Constituency by-election in Edo.

Oghuma emerged winner with 39,876 votes to defeat the People’s Democratic Party candidate Mr Jude Imagwe who polled 18,193 votes.

The Returning Officer for the election, Prof. Shola Omotola, who announced the result at about 12:45 am on Sunday said the APC candidate won having scored the highest number of votes cast.

Advert Space

Omotola said that total a total of 59,301 votes were cast with  58,427 being valid votes and 874 rejected.

Speaking to newsmen, Oghuma assured the people of the constituency of effective representation.

“I want to assure Etsako people that I will not fail them.

“I will represent them well and their voices will be heared and I will not dissapoint them,” he said.

The bye-election came following the election of the former holder of the seat, Mr Philip Shuaib, as Deputy Governor of the state.

Some commentators said the fact that APC continues to succeed at elections beginning from the last Edo and Ondo states’ government elections to the latest election in Etsako is indicative of a direction that people have chosen, which, according to one of them, is not affected by distractions being embarked upon by corrupt politicians striving hard with their #CorruptionFightBack tactics to collapse the anti-corruption fight of the APC government across the country.

Share with love

Share with Love